Quick Answer: What Is A Nam In The Marine Corps?

How do you get a Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal?

It is awarded for meritorious service or achievement in either combat or noncombat based on sustained performance or specific achievement of a superlative nature but which does not warrant a Navy Commendation Medal or higher.

How many lines is a NAM citation?

Non-combat citations are limited to 7 ½ lines. A citation consists of three parts: 1. Opening Sentence.

How do you get the Joint Service Achievement Medal?

To be eligible for this award, the individual must be a member of the armed forces of the United States below the grade of O-6, and assigned to a qualifying organization such as The defense agencies, Headquarters of Unified Commands, Office of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the Office of the Secretary of Defense.

What is the C device?

The “C” device would show that the Army Commendation Medal was awarded during combat. A soldier can receive a “C” device even if the soldier wasn’t personally engaged in combat but the service or achievement being recognized was in a combat area, according to the release.

You might be interested:  Often asked: What Does Marine Corp Birthday Ball Security Do?

What are the top 10 military medals?

The military medals discussed here are decorations, not awards.

  • The Medal of Honor. The Medal of Honor is the highest military honor presented for valor.
  • The Distinguished Service Cross, the Navy Cross and the Air Force Cross.
  • Distinguished Flying Cross.
  • The Bronze Star.
  • The Purple Heart.

Can I wear my fathers medals?

CAN I WEAR MY FAMILY MEDALS? The rule is that war medals should only be worn on the left breast by the person upon whom they were conferred. Technically this honour remains with the individual and does not pass to a widow, parent or relative upon death.

Is Bronze Star a big deal?

Today, it is the fourth-highest ranking award a service member can receive for a heroic and meritorious deed performed in an armed conflict. For those who receive the BSM, it is a signal of their sacrifice, bravery and honor while serving their country.

What is the highest Medal for a civilian?

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is an award bestowed by the president of the United States to recognize people who have made “an especially meritorious contribution to the security or national interests of the United States, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.” The Presidential

How many lines can a floc have?

“For commendable performance of duty as (TITLE/POSITION), while assigned to U.S. Petty Officer Jones’ exceptional ability, personal initiative, and loyal devotion to duty reflected credit upon him/herself and the United States Naval Service.” Describe action – Citation should be 18 to 22 lines /Max 22 lines.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: What Percent Of People Make It Through Marine Corps Bootcamp?

Who can approve a Navy and Marine Corps Medal?

(4) Commanding Officer, Naval Academy Preparatory School and the Commandant of Midshipmen are authorized to approve Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medals (NC) and lesser awards.

How many lines are in a floc?

The citation is limited to 18 typewritten lines, Courier New font, 12 pitch, with the following margins: left 0.7 inches, right 0.5 inches, top 2 inches, and bottom 1 inch. A sample FLOC citation, enclosure (3), has been provided to assist with its preparation. f. Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medals.

Can Marines wear Air Force medals?


How do you write an AF Achievement medal?

Citations must capture the substance of the decoration with dignity and clarity. The narrative is a short description of the act, achievement, or service. Be specific on facts and limit to no more than two sentences, if possible. Emphasize the individual’s mission contribution and use active voice and forceful verbs.

What star goes on a NAM?

A 5⁄16 inch star (9.7mm) is a miniature gold or silver five-pointed star that is authorized by the United States Armed Forces as a ribbon device to denote subsequent awards for specific decorations of the Department of the Navy, Coast Guard, Public Health Service, and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *